This photo popped up on my pinterest a few days ago and has had me thinking ever since. “If you were accused of being a Christian, would there be enough evidence to convict you?” These words hit me hard… Am I doing enough as a Christian to prove that I am one? Words are words, talk is cheap… Is my faith proven by my actions as well as through my words?

In James chapter 2 beginning at verse 14, James writes about faith and works. Verse 17 reads “Even so faith, if it has no works, is dead, being by itself.” … skipping down to verse 22, ” “You see that faith was working with his [Abraham’s] works, and as a result of the works, faith was perfected.” (The entire chapter is great, I highly recommend you read it!)

Works and faith need each other to be validated. Without faith, our deeds are empty… and without deeds, our faith is merely head knowledge. Our faith is strengthened by our works, and our works are an overflow of our faith.

Back to my original question… “Am I doing enough as a Christian to prove that I am one?” Well, if my faith, knowledge of God’s Word and time with Him in prayer is changing me, then the answer should be yes. If not, I need to take a good hard look at my life and get back to spending time with the Lord.

In Christ we are a new creation, we have been set apart for good works… this should be obvious to everyone around us.

Tangibly, what does this look like in our everyday life? We all know the typical Sunday school answers.. But what ministry (whether in church or just even among our family and friends, Christian or not) are we doing that runs deeper than just treating others kindly? Is our faith impacting our deeds that mindlessly flow out of us?

Faith and Works

One thought on “Faith and Works

Leave a Reply

