Wholly surrendered.

This week I had the immense pleasure of attending one of Cedarville University’s academic camps. One of the main themes of the week was focusing on God’s Will for our lives (specifically for our college and future career paths.)

If I’m being very honest, this is something I grapple terribly with. In my flesh, I think I know what’s best for me… I should know best after all, right?

Well that’s not exactly true. See, we don’t know ourselves as well as we think we do. People change. You most likely are not the person you were 10 years ago, or are the person you will be 10 years down the road.

Based on that, don’t we have a reason to fear? What if we pick a career focus that we decide doesn’t fulfill us in 10 years? What if we are living in some where that we hate? Then what?

If you’re anything like me, you’ve spent a fair amount of time stressing over college. It’s a lot of money and time… And you have to decide when you’re still young and naive.

But there is hope. God knows us better than we know ourselves. He has ordained our paths for us before the foundations of the earth. He knows exactly what we will do, and exactly what we SHOULD do.

At this point you may ask “Okay, so God knows. Now what? How do I know what His will for me is?” It’s actually kind of easy… God will make it evident as to where you’re supposed to be. He will open doors, and close doors before you.

If I may exhort you for a moment… Let me tell you, get down on your knees and pray fervently about these decisions. Seek Godly and wise counsel from people who know and care for you. If you ask Him, He will make it obvious where He needs you, and where is best for you.

I don’t know what this next chapter of my life entails, but I know that God knows. I know that if I ask Him, I can be confident that I am in the right place and that I will be doing the right thing. I can plan my own life out according to my will, but at the end of the day, His will is going to prevail.

To quote Andy Mineo from his song Ex Nihilo, “I am not the artist, I’m the canvas that He’s painting.”

Leave a Reply

