May Media Fast 2k14

I don’t know about you, but one of – if not my biggest downfall in my spiritual walk is music. The majority of the battle is in our minds… And it really does matter what music we fill our minds with.

 

There is really nothing more in this world I love more than music… And I love all kinds of music. Classical, jazz, rap, folk, R&B, rock…. You name it, and I most likely love it. I listen to music pretty much from the time I wake up, to the time I go to sleep at night. Almost to a fault.

Over this last while I have been trying quite hard to intentionally walk closer with the Lord. Every day is a new day, and His mercies are new every morning, but each day marks a new day with new mercies, but on the flipside, it also means there is a new canvas to be filled struggle and sin.

 

But it’s the most interesting thing, because the more I fill my head with a nonstop “IV drip” of music that isn’t edifying (okay, secular) I can feel my heart wander. My tongue becomes harsher and sharper, my thoughts become darker and less joy-filled, the “loneliness” begins to creep in, and my desire to study and be immersed in God’s Word diminishes.

Yes, my favourite John Mayer song can always bring that momentary feeling of happiness and familiar comfort, but one song becomes another, and another, until the bold intensity of Andy Mineo, or the brightness of Phil Wickham’s music is nothing more than a distant memory.

 

Yet on the contrary, whenever I immerse myself in music such as worship and other music that is blatantly God glorifying, my entire worldview and thinking shifts.

 

So. With all this said, I would like to propose a challenge for the month of May to you, my twitter followers and readers.

For the month of May, I personally am choosing to listen to only “sacred” music. I also am going to limit my netflix and movie intake… I too often spend time watching TV when I could be spending precious time with Jesus.

In May, I am going to intentionally set my mind on Christ, and strive to become more like Him… And I’d like to invite you on this journey.

Starting May 1st, I will go on a 31 Day (Secular) Media fast with the goal to grow closer to God and through that keep a more intentionally keep a more disciplined mind and heart.

Who’s with me?

2 thoughts on “May Media Fast 2k14

  1. I’m with you girl! Ironically, I completely wiped my iTunes out on my phone and put in my more edifying music. One little love song in the wrong season in life can do some unecessary damage to a heart. It definitely doesn’t mean it’s bad. It’s more a “I’ll save that for later” kind of attitude. Anywho, awesome blog, Julia!

    Britt ❤

    • Ahh, yes!!! This also is a huge reason behind why I cleared my “secular” music out – cute little love songs and all. Beautifully written, Brittany! Thank you for sharing! 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

