Pilot Me

It’s May 2nd, so in keeping with my last post, I am indeed taking part in my secular media fast. So far, so good. I’m excited to see what God does in this next month!

Each weekend in May, I’m going to blog about and “feature” a unique Christian artist on my blog.

I feel as if people have problems listening to Christian music because it’s “cheesy” or considered lower quality…. Well I’m here to tell you that it is NOT cheesy or lower quality. In fact, I strongly believe that it in a lot of ways has more artistry than secular music. {Plus it’s anointed, which means it’s automatically better.}

 

The artist for this weekend, is Josh Garrels. Ironically enough, I heard about his music from my madly hip Mama (she’s always giving me new artists to listen to. Hehe.) at first I didn’t like his music one bit, and thought it was too “interesting.” Well, that didn’t mean my Mama didn’t stop playing it that afternoon. An hour later, I was putting his complete discography on my phone.

Josh Garrels is from Indiana originally (yay for some midwestern pride!), but currently lives in Hipster Haven aka Portland, Oregon. He does all his own stuff, and his music is a mashup between many styles… Predominately folk, with a bit of rap and some jazzy stuff thrown into the mix.

He is a strong believer, which is evident by his lyrics. In his songs he talks about following Christ, God’s creation, everyday life, and also sings scripture in many of his songs.

It’s a beautiful thing.

 

 

This video is one of my favourite things on the internet… So beautiful and refreshing. If you like what you’re hearing, you can also check out my Josh Garrels grooveshark playlist and enjoy some more of his music.

 

{ps….  incase you were wondering, my blog is ironically named “shelter from the storms” from one of Josh Garrels’ songs – White Owl. It’s also worth a listen. 🙂 }

2 thoughts on “Pilot Me

  1. Pingback: Pilot Me | Hoosier Herald

Leave a Reply

